Summer season 2019 reaches break even

Nuremberg, 16 September 2019 - At the current booking level at the end of August 2019, the negative balance of the current summer season has been balanced. This means that the summer sales generated to date by travel agencies and online travel portals with holidays between May and October 2019 are now cumulatively at the previous year's level. In the booking month of August, a summer sales increase of seven percent with winter travel sales below the previous year (minus three percent) adds up to a total of two percent more sales compared to the same month last year.

For the current summer season, travel sales in the booking month of August have accumulated substantial growth of seven percent. Growth in both sales channels - stationary and online - was almost equally high. In relation to the cumulative summer balance sheets, however, online travel sales are in a better position with a plus of five percent. In stationary travel sales, summer sales are still two percent down on the previous year. Taken together, this results in a summer balance at the previous year's level. At the current booking level at the end of August 2019, 95 percent of last year's seasonal sales have been booked. It is quite possible that in the remaining two booking months until the end of this year's summer season, travel sales will be able to maintain this level and thus continue the previous year's strong growth.

August 2019 was characterised by a comparatively high booking volume for short-term holidays departing in August or September. They account for 35.2 per cent of monthly sales (prior-year month: 33.1 per cent). Both travel months have visibly improved compared to the previous month with the additional revenues achieved: August, with all departures completed, ends with revenues at the previous year's level, while September, despite the improvement, remains below the previous year's level (currently: -1.4 per cent). 

Travel bookings for the coming winter season accounted for a good third of August revenue - 1.8 percentage points less than in the same month last year. Even the revenue achieved was unable to keep pace with the previous year (minus three per cent). This means that the coming 2019/20 winter season will show a cumulative minus of four per cent compared to the current booking level. The new winter season is also running against a high-growth season of the previous year, which at that time showed an increase in sales of nine percent. 

Legend:

The chart shows the travel revenues generated in August 2019 and cumulated up to the end of August 2019 for the 2019 summer season and the 2019/20 winter season compared with the previous year. Both holiday travel bookings in stationary travel agencies and online on the travel portals of tour operators and online travel agencies (OTAs) with a focus on package tours are included. The left-hand side of the chart shows how much revenue has been generated in per cent for the summer and winter seasons compared to the previous year's season (final figures).

About TDA Travel Intelligence

The tourist retail panel Travel Insights is based on the booking data of around 2,000 travel agencies that represent the stationary sales market in Germany. In addition, the booking data of the classic travel portals and tour operators are recorded online. Extrapolated to the overall market, the Travel Insights analyses allow reliable conclusions to be drawn about the booking and travel behaviour of German holidaymakers. Current trends and developments in the tourism market can be traced promptly. The core business of travel agencies and the online travel portals of tour operators and so-called OTAs (Online Travel Agencies) is based on holiday trips booked as a package or in modules.

Further Information: Dörte Nordbeck, doerte@traveldataanalytics.de,
phone: +49 (0)911 951 510 00

About Travel Data + Analytics

Travel Data + Analytics GmbH (TDA), founded by Dr Markus Heller, acquired the tourism retail panel Travel Insights from GfK in April 2019. Until the end of the current tourism year 2018/19, i.e. the end of October 2019, booking data from travel sales and analyses will continue to be processed via GfK's systems. The system development on the part of TDA runs in parallel. Upon completion of the transition phase, all booking data will be loaded retroactively from the 2016/17 tourism year, ensuring a seamless transition.

Sommersaison 2019 erreicht schwarze Null

Nürnberg, 16. September 2019 – Zum aktuellen Buchungsstand per Ende August 2019 ist die bisher negative Bilanz der aktuellen Sommersaison ausgeglichen. Das heißt, die bis dato in den Reisebüros und auf Online-Reiseportalen erzielten Sommerumsätze mit Urlauben zwischen Mai und Oktober 2019 liegen jetzt kumuliert auf Vorjahresniveau. Im Buchungsmonat August summieren sich ein sommerliches Umsatzplus von sieben Prozent mit Winterreiseumsätzen unter Vorjahr (minus drei Prozent) auf insgesamt zwei Prozent mehr Umsatz im Vergleich zum Vorjahresmonat.

Für die laufende Sommersaison sind im Buchungsmonat August ordentliche Zuwächse in Höhe von sieben Prozent im Reisevertrieb aufgelaufen. Das Wachstum ist dabei in beiden Vertriebskanälen – stationär und online – nahezu gleich hoch ausgefallen. Bezogen auf die kumulierten Sommerbilanzen steht der Online-Reisevertrieb mit einem Plus von fünf Prozent allerdings besser da. Im stationären Reisevertrieb liegen die Sommerumsätze noch zwei Prozent unter Vorjahr. Zusammengenommen ergibt sich eine Sommerbilanz auf Vorjahresniveau. Zum aktuellen Buchungsstand per Ende August 2019 sind 95 Prozent der letztjährigen Saisonumsätze gebucht. Gut möglich, dass der Reisevertrieb in den verbleibenden zwei Buchungsmonaten bis zum Ende der diesjährigen Sommersaison das Niveau halten und somit an ein wachstumsstarkes Vorjahr anschließen kann.

Der August 2019 war von einem vergleichsweise starken Buchungsaufkommen für kurzfristige Urlaube mit Abreise noch im August oder September gekennzeichnet. Sie stehen umsatzanteilig für 35,2 Prozent des Monatsumsatzes (Vorjahresmonat: 33,1 Prozent). Mit den erzielten Mehrumsätzen haben sich beide Reisemonate zum Vormonat sichtlich verbessert: Der nunmehr abgereiste August endet mit Umsätzen auf Vorjahresniveau, der September bleibt trotz der Verbesserung noch unter seinem Vorjahrespendant (aktuell: -1,4 Prozent). 

Gut ein Drittel des Augustumsatzes entfiel auf Reisebuchungen für die kommende Wintersaison – 1,8 Prozentpunkte weniger als im Vorjahresmonat. Auch die erzielten Umsätze können mit dem Vorjahr nicht Schritt halten (minus drei Prozent). Damit weist die kommende Wintersaison 2019/20 zum aktuellen Buchungsstand ein Minus von kumuliert vier Prozent auf. Auch die neue Wintersaison läuft gegen eine wachstumsstarke Vorjahressaison, die zu diesem Zeitpunkt ein Umsatzplus von neun Prozent aufwies. 

Legende:

Im Chart werden die im August 2019 und kumuliert bis Ende August 2019 generierten Reiseumsätze für die Sommersaison 2019 und die Wintersaison 2019/20 im Vergleich zum Vorjahr aufgezeigt. Sowohl Urlaubsreisebuchungen in stationären Reisebüros als auch online auf den Reiseportalen der Veranstalter und Online Travel Agencies (OTAs) mit Schwerpunkt Pauschalreisen fließen ein. Links im Chart wird angezeigt, wieviel Umsatz in Prozent für die Sommer- bzw. Wintersaison im Vergleich zur Vorjahressaison (Endstand) aufgelaufen ist.

Über TDA Travel Intelligence

Das touristische Handelspanel basiert auf den Buchungsdaten von rund 2.000 Reisebüros, die den stationären Vertriebsmarkt in Deutschland repräsentativ abbilden. Zusätzlich werden im Onlinebereich die Buchungsdaten der klassischen Reiseportale und der Reiseveranstalter erfasst. Hochgerechnet auf den Gesamtmarkt erlauben die Auswertungen von TDA Travel Intelligence verlässliche Rückschlüsse auf das Buchungs- und Reiseverhalten der deutschen Urlauber. Aktuelle Trends und Entwicklungen im touristischen Markt sind zeitnah nachvollziehbar. Das Kerngeschäft von Reisebüros, den Online-Reiseportalen der Veranstalter und sogenannten OTAs (Online Travel Agencies) beruht auf pauschal oder in Bausteinen gebuchten Urlaubsreisen.

Weitere Informationen: Dörte Nordbeck, doerte.nordbeck@traveldataanalytics.de,
Telefon: +49 (0)911 951 510 00

Über Travel Data + Analytics

Die Travel Data + Analytics GmbH (TDA), gegründet von Dr. Markus Heller, hat das touristische Handelspanel im April 2019 von der GfK übernommen. Bis zum Ende des laufenden Touristikjahres 2018/19, also bis Ende Oktober 2019, werden die Buchungsdaten aus dem Reisevertrieb und die Analysen weiterhin über die Systeme der GfK verarbeitet. Parallel läuft die Systementwicklung aufseiten von TDA. Mit dem Abschluss der Übergangsphase werden alle Buchungsdaten rückwirkend ab dem Touristikjahr 2016/17 geladen sein, so dass ein nahtloser Übergang gewährleistet ist.