Cook Insolvency Boosts Last Minute Bookings

Nuremberg, 31 October 2019 - In the booking month of September 2019, last-minute bookings for holidays departing in September or October increased significantly (+27 per cent). The insolvency of Thomas Cook thus leaves its mark on the booking balance surprisingly early: many Germans have apparently booked their cancelled holiday with another tour operator without further ado. The holiday business for the new 2019/20 winter season, on the other hand, remains at the comparatively weak level of the previous month.

As cynical as it may sound, the Cook bankruptcy has not only caused grief in travel sales, but has also resulted in a good deal of new business. In the stationary travel agencies, short-term holiday bookings for the 2019 summer season, which runs until the end of October, led to an increase in turnover of 30 per cent in September. Travellers who couldn’t go on their trips have thus increasingly turned to a travel agency. In any case, online travel sales are growing less strongly at +22 per cent.

In total, 41.3 per cent of the monthly turnover in September 2019 was due to short-term departures in September and October. This represents an increase of a remarkable 5.9 percentage points compared with the same month of the previous year. As a result, the revenue balance sheets for the remaining travel months have visibly improved compared to the previous month: September 2019 ends with a small minus of 0.3 per cent (status of the previous month: -1.4 per cent). The travel month of October improved from the booking status at the end of September to a plus of 6.7 per cent (previous month: +2.9 per cent).

What is to be considered with this allegedly so positive last-minute boom: The respective travel cancellations are missing in the balance, because the cancelled journeys with the organizers of Thomas Cook can neither be changed for insolvency-legal reasons at present nor be cancelled. The strong last-minute bookings also have little effect on the cumulative summer balance sheet: although it improves in the zero-point range, it remains rounded, as in the previous month, at a black zero.

For the upcoming winter season 2019/20 there is little news to report on the current booking status as of the end of September 2019: Just as in the previous month, incoming bookings amounted to minus three per cent in sales, the cumulative level remained at a minus of four per cent. In the monthly sales balance, winter holidays accounted for 37 per cent of sales - 4.2 percentage points less than in the previous year. The early bookers for the 2020 summer season also lost 1.6 percentage points in September. They accounted for 21.7 per cent of sales.

Legend:
The chart shows the travel revenues generated in September 2019 and cumulated up to the end of September 2019 for the 2019 summer season and the 2019/20 winter season compared with the previous year. Both holiday travel bookings in stationary travel agencies and online on the travel portals of tour operators and online travel agencies (OTAs) with a focus on package tours are included. The left-hand side of the chart shows how much revenue has been generated in per cent for the summer and winter seasons compared to the previous year's season (final figures).

About TDA Travel Intelligence

The tourist retail panel Travel Insights is based on the booking data of around 2,000 travel agencies that represent the stationary sales market in Germany. In addition, the booking data of the classic travel portals and tour operators are recorded online. Extrapolated to the overall market, the Travel Insights analyses allow reliable conclusions to be drawn about the booking and travel behaviour of German holidaymakers. Current trends and developments in the tourism market can be traced promptly. The core business of travel agencies and the online travel portals of tour operators and so-called OTAs (Online Travel Agencies) is based on holiday trips booked as a package or in modules.

Further Information: Dörte Nordbeck, doerte.nordbeck@traveldataanalytics.de, phone: +49 (0)911 951 510 02

About Travel Data + Analytics

Travel Data + Analytics GmbH (TDA), founded by Dr Markus Heller, acquired the tourism retail panel Travel Insights from GfK in April 2019. Until the end of the current tourism year 2018/19, i.e. the end of October 2019, booking data from travel sales and analyses will continue to be processed via GfK's systems. The system development on the part of TDA runs in parallel. Upon completion of the transition phase, all booking data will be loaded retroactively from the 2016/17 tourism year, ensuring a seamless transition.

Cook-Insolvenz beflügelt Last Minute-Buchungen

Nürnberg, 31. Oktober 2019 – Im Buchungsmonat September 2019 haben die Last Minute-Buchungen für Urlaube mit Abreise noch im September oder Oktober markant angezogen (+27 Prozent). Die Insolvenz von Thomas Cook hinterlässt damit überraschend früh ihre Spuren in der Buchungsbilanz: Viele Deutsche haben ihren ausgefallenen Urlaub offenbar kurzerhand neu bei einem anderen Reisever- anstalter gebucht. Das Urlaubsgeschäft für die neue Wintersaison 2019/20 verharrt dagegen auf vergleichsweise schwachem Vormonatsniveau.

So zynisch es klingt: Die Cook-Pleite hat im Reisevertrieb nicht nur für Kummer, sondern auch für ordentlich Neugeschäft gesorgt. In den stationären Reisebüros haben kurzfristi- ge Urlaubsbuchungen für die noch bis Ende Oktober laufende Sommersaison 2019 im September zu einem Umsatzplus in Höhe von 30 Prozent geführt. Um ihren Urlaub gebrachte Reisende haben sich damit vermehrt an ein Reisebüro gewandt. Der Online- Reisevertrieb wächst mit +22 Prozent jedenfalls weniger stark.

Insgesamt waren 41,3 Prozent des Monatsumsatzes im September 2019 kurzfristigen Abreisen noch im September und Oktober geschuldet. Im Vergleich zum Vorjahresmonat entspricht dies einem Anstieg um bemerkenswerte 5,9 Prozentpunkte. Damit haben sich auch die Umsatzbilanzen der verbleibenden Reisemonate zum Vormonat sichtlich verbessert: Der September 2019 endet mit einem kleinen Minus von 0,3 Prozent (Stand Vormonat: -1,4 Prozent). Der Reisemonat Oktober verbessert sich zum Buchungsstand per Ende September auf ein Plus von 6,7 Prozent (Vormonat: +2,9 Prozent).

Was bei diesem vermeintlich so positiven Last Minute-Boom zu berücksichtigen ist: Es fehlen die entsprechenden Reisestornos in der Bilanz, denn die abgesagten Reisen mit den Veranstaltern von Thomas Cook können aus insolvenzrechtlichen Gründen ja derzeit weder geändert noch storniert werden. Auch an der kumulierten Sommerbilanz ändern die starken Last Minute-Buchungen wenig: Sie verbessert sich zwar im Null-Komma- Bereich, bleibt gerundet aber wie im Vormonat bei einer schwarzen Null.

Zur anstehenden Wintersaison 2019/20 gibt es zum aktuellen Buchungsstand per Ende September 2019 wenig Neues zu berichten: Genau wie im Vormonat belaufen sich die Buchungseingänge auf minus drei Prozent in Umsatz, der kumulierte Stand bleibt bei einem Minus von vier Prozent. In der monatlichen Umsatzbilanz standen Winterurlaube für 37 Prozent des Umsatzes – 4,2 Prozentpunkte weniger als im Jahr zuvor. Auch die Frühbucher für die Sommersaison 2020 haben im September umsatzanteilig 1,6 Prozent- punkte verloren. Sie standen für einen Umsatzanteil von 21,7 Prozent.

Legende:
Im Chart werden die im September 2019 und kumuliert bis Ende September 2019 generierten Reiseumsätze für die Sommersaison 2019 und die Wintersaison 2019/20 im Vergleich zum Vorjahr aufgezeigt. Sowohl Urlaubsreisebuchungen in stationären Reisebüros als auch online auf den Reiseportalen der Veranstalter und Online Travel Agencies (OTAs) mit Schwerpunkt Pauschalreisen fließen ein. Links im Chart wird angezeigt, wieviel Umsatz in Prozent für die Sommer- bzw. Wintersaison im Vergleich zur Vorjahressaison (Endstand) aufgelaufen ist.

Über TDA Travel Intelligence

Das touristische Handelspanel basiert auf den Buchungsdaten von rund 2.000 Reisebüros, die den stationären Vertriebsmarkt in Deutschland repräsentativ abbilden. Zusätzlich werden im Onlinebe- reich die Buchungsdaten der klassischen Reiseportale und der Reiseveranstalter erfasst. Hochge- rechnet auf den Gesamtmarkt erlauben die Auswertungen von TDA Travel Intelligence verlässliche Rückschlüsse auf das Buchungs- und Reiseverhalten der deutschen Urlauber. Aktuelle Trends und Entwicklungen im touristischen Markt sind zeitnah nachvollziehbar. Das Kerngeschäft von Reise- büros, den Online-Reiseportalen der Veranstalter und sogenannten OTAs (Online Travel Agencies) beruht auf pauschal oder in Bausteinen gebuchten Urlaubsreisen.

Weitere Informationen: Dörte Nordbeck, doerte.nordbeck@traveldataanalytics.de, Telefon: +49 (0)911 951 510 02

Über Travel Data + Analytics

Die Travel Data + Analytics GmbH (TDA), gegründet von Dr. Markus Heller, hat das touristische Handelspanel im April 2019 von der GfK übernommen. Bis zum Ende des laufenden Touristikjah- res 2018/19, also bis Ende Oktober 2019, werden die Buchungsdaten aus dem Reisevertrieb und die Analysen weiterhin über die Systeme der GfK verarbeitet. Parallel läuft die Systementwicklung aufseiten von TDA. Mit dem Abschluss der Übergangsphase werden alle Buchungsdaten rück- wirkend ab dem Touristikjahr 2016/17 geladen sein, so dass ein nahtloser Übergang gewährleistet ist.